Are agricultural workers exempt from sick time in massachusetts

The Massachusetts overtime laws include an exemption for agricultural and farming workers. However, the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court recently decided a case that affects what is considered agricultural and farming work. In the case of Arias-Villano v.

2.0 Massachusetts & Federal Leave Laws

All farms, regardless of size, must allow employees to take sick leave and jury duty leave.

Full
Answer

How many hours can you work on sick leave in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts law Up to 40 hours per year MGL c.149, §§ 148C and 148D. Employees who work for employers having 11 or more employees may earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick time per calendar year, while employees working for smaller employers may earn and use up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per calendar year.

Who is exempt from Massachusetts state wage and hour laws?

Under Massachusetts state wage and hour laws ( MA Gen. Laws Stat. Ch. 151 Sec. 1A and MA Gen. Laws Stat. Ch. 151 Sec. 2 ), individuals employed in a bona fide administrative, executive, professional, or outside sales capacity and who pass the salary level test are exempt from the overtime provisions of the law.

What are the conditions of employment for domestic workers in Massachusetts?

MGL c.149, § 190 Conditions of employment for domestic workers. Workers must be given a period of 24 consecutive hours off per week MGL c.151B, § 4 Unlawful practices. Prohibits discrimination and provides reasonable accommodations for expectant and new mothers in the workplace. 454 CMR 27.04 (1) Reporting pay or “show up” pay.

How is accrued sick leave calculated under Mama statute 149?

MA Statute 149.148C (d) (5) For employees who are paid on a piecework or fee-for-service basis, employers should calculate their accrued sick leave based on a reasonable measure of time worked by the employee.


What is an exempt employee in Massachusetts?

Under Massachusetts law, exempt employees (also known as salaried employees) typically include administrators, executives and professional workers who do not get overtime pay – they make the same amount each week, no matter how many hours they work.


What is the new sick time law in MA?

Employees earn 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours they work All employees can earn sick time including part time, temporary and seasonal employees.


Why are agricultural workers not covered by NLRA?

The NLRA protects this bargaining process and the parties involved. Agricultural laborers are one of only two classes of workers excluded from the protection of the NLRA. NLRA because of their exclusion from the definition of “employee,” there is no mention that agricultural laborers are forbidden from forming unions.


Who are agricultural workers under labor code?

(f) “Plantation Agricultural Workers” means those agricultural workers employed in any plantation or agricultural enterprise with an area of more than 24 hectares in a locality or which employs at least 20 workers. All other agricultural workers are considered non-plantation agricultural workers.


Does Massachusetts pay out sick time?

You earn 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours per year. If your workplace has 11 or more workers, that time must be paid. If your workplace has fewer than 11 workers, your sick time may be unpaid—but you can’t be fired or punished for taking it.


How many sick days do you get in a year in Massachusetts?

Up to 40 hours of sick leave must carry over from year-to-year, although employees are not entitled to use more than 40 hours of sick leave each year. Alternatively, employers can choose to provide 40 hours of sick leave to their employees at the start of each year.


Who is excluded from NLRA?

Excluded from coverage under the NLRA are public-sector employees, agricultural and domestic workers, independent contractors, workers employed by a parent or spouse, employees of air and rail carriers covered by the Railway Labor Act, and supervisors (although supervisors that have been discriminated against for …


When did farm workers get their rights?

The Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act of 1983 is the principal federal employment law for farm workers.


Which employees are protected under the NLRA?

Which employees are protected under the NLRA? Most employees in the private sector are covered under the NLRA. The law does not cover government employees, agricultural laborers, independent contractors, and supervisors (with limited exceptions).


What type of work is agriculture?

What are agriculture careers? Agriculture careers are professionals paths related to farming, cultivation and animal husbandry. These career paths involve everything from growing crops and nurturing the soil to raising livestock like cattle, pigs and chickens.


What is non agricultural worker?

NON-AGRICULTURAL. (Includes private hospitals, educational institutions security. agencies, janitorial services and retail / service establishments. employing more than 30 workers)


What is Article 284 of the Labor Code?

Under Article 284 of the Labor Code, among the grounds for termination of employment are when an employee is found to be suffering form any disease and whose continued employment is prohibited by law or is prejudicial to his health as well as the health of his co-employees.


What is earned sick time in Massachusetts?

Earned sick time. Workers in Massachusetts have the right to take time off from work to take care of themselves and their families.


How many employees are required to provide sick time?

Employers with 11 or more employees must provide paid sick time. Employers with fewer than 11 employees must provide earned sick time, but it does not need to be paid.


When can an employer ask for a doctor’s note?

For example, they can ask for a doctor’s note when an employee misses more than 3 consecutive workdays.


Can an employer have a sick leave policy?

Employers may have their own sick leave policy or other paid time off policy that employees use as sick leave, as long as the policy provides the same benefits and protections that the law requires , or better .


Can you use earned sick time for your child?

Workers may use earned sick time if they are ill or injured or have a routine medical appointment. They can also use earned sick time for their child, spouse, parent, or spouse’s parent for the same purposes . In addition, workers may use earned sick time to deal with domestic violence involving themselves or their children.


Do you need to fill out a form to use sick time?

Workers may need to fill out a form stating that they are using sick time for a covered purpose.


Do employers have to post a notice of employee rights?

Employers must post the Notice of Employee Rights in the workplace and either : give a copy of the notice to each worker, or. include the employer’s sick time policy in any handbook or manual. You may download the Notice of Employee Rights in English and several more languages below.


What is the pesticide control act of Massachusetts?

Massachusetts’ Pesticide Control Act governs the labeling, distribution, sale, storage, transportation, use and application, and disposal of pesticides in the state. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 132B; 333 Mass. Code Regs.)


Is agriculture covered by workers compensation?

Agricultural workers are covered by the state workers’ compensation law with no exceptions. Employers are required to cover agricultural workers to same extent as all other workers. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 152 § 1 (4) (2012)


Can farm workers join labor unions?

There is no provision (or judicial interpretation of a provision) in the state constitution that grants farmworkers the right to join and organize labor unions free from retaliation or to engage in collective bargaining with their employers.


How much sick time can an employee use in Massachusetts?

Pursuant to Massachusetts’ sick leave law, the smallest amount of sick time an employee may use is one (1) hour, even if the employee needs to use less than that amount of time. For leave beyond the first hour, employers may use hourly increments or the smallest increment used by the employer for payroll or other leave purposes. For example, if an employer pays employees based on 10-minute increments, it may establish a policy in which it deducts accrued leave from an employee’s sick leave bank in 10-minute increments after the employee’s first hour of leave. MA Stat. 149.148C (d) (7); MA Regs. 940.33.03 (14)


How many employees are eligible for sick leave in Massachusetts?

Under Massachusetts’ sick leave law, employers with an average of ten (10) or fewer employees in the preceding benefit year are only required to provide employees with unpaid sick leave. Employers with an average of 11 or more employees in the preceding benefit year must provide employees with paid sick leave. To determine the average number of employees, an employer must count the number of employees, including full-time, part-time, seasonal, and temporary employees, on the payroll during each pay period in the preceding benefit year and divide that number by the number of pay periods. MA Statute 149.148C (d) (4) & (6), (n); MA Regs. 940.33.04 (1), (4) This includes all employees working for the employers, regardless of whether they work in or outside Massachusetts or are otherwise eligible to accrue or use sick leave. MA Regs. 940.33.03 (3) Temporary employees provided by temporary staffing agencies must be counted by both the temporary employer and the staffing agency for purposes of determining the average number of employees employed in a benefit year. MA Regs. 940.33.04 (1)


How many hours of sick leave can an employer take?

Employers may cap an employee’s sick leave accrual at forty (40) hours per benefit year and may delay any further accrual until the employee uses some of his or her accrued sick time. MA Regs. 940.33.03 (8), (9) Additionally, an employer is only required to allow employees to use up to forty (40) hours of accrued sick leave in each benefit year. MA Regs. 940.33.03 (12) Employees may not use sick leave for time they are not scheduled to work. MA Regs. 940.33.03 (13) Employees who have both accrued paid and unpaid sick leave due to changes in their employer’s size above or below 10 employees may choose whether to use either or both to cover the use of sick leave. MA Regs. 940.33.04 (7)


How many hours of sick leave can you rollover in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts sick leave law requires employers to allow employees to rollover up to forty (40) hours of accrued sick leave from one benefit year to the next. MA Regs. 940.33.03 (10)


What is the Massachusetts sick leave law?

Massachusetts sick leave law allows employers to require employees to personally verify in writing that they are using earned sick time for an allowable purpose. MA Regs. 940.33.06 (10) Employers may require employees to provide additional written documentation supporting their need to use sick leave in the following situations:


Can you have unlimited sick leave in Massachusetts?

Employers may maintain unlimited sick leave policies. Employers that maintain such policies are not required to track sick leave accrual or allow any annual rollover, so long as they are otherwise compliant with Massachusetts’ sick leave law. MA Regs. 940.33.07 (6)


Does Massachusetts require sick leave?

Massachusetts sick leave law only requires employers to provide eligible employees with sick leave if Massachusetts is the employees’ primary place of employment. An employee’s primary place of employment is Massachusetts if he or she spends more of his or her time working in Massachusetts than any other state; he or she is not required to work a majority of their time in Massachusetts. For example, if an employee works 40% of his or her time in Massachusetts, 30% of his or her time in Connecticut; and 30% of his or her time in Rhode Island, Massachusetts is the employee’s primary place of employment and the employer must provide sick leave to the employee. MA Statute 149.148C (a); MA Regs. 940.33.03 (1)


What is MGL c.151B?

MGL c.151B, § 4 Unlawful practices. Prohibits discrimination and provides reasonable accommodations for expectant and new mothers in the workplace.


Does Massachusetts require a 30-minute lunch break?

From Boston.com: “Massachusetts does not require employers to offer rest breaks other than the 30-minute lunch break…There is no federal law which requires an employer to provide rest breaks…Some bargaining agreements may require breaks during the work day.”


Do you have to pay for 3 hours of work?

If you were scheduled to work for 3 hours or more and get sent home, your employer must pay you for at least 3 hours at at least minimum wage. This does not apply to charitable organizations. 454 CMR 27.04 (2) On-call time. Explains when employers are and are not required to pay for on-call time.


How many hours can you work in Massachusetts if you are exempt from overtime?

Massachusetts law requires employers to pay employees overtime (1 1 / 2 times their regular rate of pay) if they work over 40 hours in a week. Under Massachusetts state wage and hour laws ( MA Gen. Laws Stat. Ch. 151 Sec. 1A and MA Gen. Laws Stat. Ch. 151 Sec.


What is an exempt white collar employee?

Exempt white-collar employees must perform certain types of work, and they must generally be paid on a salary basis and receive a minimum salary. To qualify as a salaried employee, an employee must be paid a predetermined amount each pay period. The amount paid may not be reduced because of a variation in the quality or quantity …


Why is the amount of pay not reduced?

The amount paid may not be reduced because of a variation in the quality or quantity of the work performed. With limited exceptions, the employee must receive his or her full salary for any week in which he or she performs any work, without regard to the number of days or hours worked.


Do you have to be paid for no work?

However, the employee need not be paid for any workweek in which he or she performs no work. Administrative and professional employees may be paid on a fee basis, rather than a salary basis, and still qualify for exemption as long as the fee payment meets the minimum salary threshold. Duties.


What are the wage and hour laws in Massachusetts?

Wage and Hour Laws. Massachusetts wage and hours laws say how, when, and how much workers must be paid. These laws also give workers the right to time off work and the right to know information about their employment.


What is the Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division?

The Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division enforces laws about minimum wage, overtime, payment of wages, sick time, meal breaks, temp workers’ protections, domestic workers’ protections, recordkeeping, and more. If you think an employer did not follow these laws, you may file a complaint with us.


How long is sick leave for farm workers?

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (HR 6201) requires private-sector employers with fewer than 500 employees to provide their employees with up to two weeks of fully or partially paid sick leave for COVID-19 related reasons between April 1 and December 31, 2020. DOL, which administers the FFCRA, can exempt …


How many hours of sick leave is required for FFCRA?

The FFCRA makes full-time employees who have been employed at least 30 days and are subject to quarantine orders due to COVID-19, who have been advised to self-quarantine by a health care provider, or who are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and are seeking a diagnosis, eligible for 80 hours of paid sick leave at their regular wage, up to $511 a day or $5,110 in total. No waiting period is required, and H-2A farm workers are eligible as well as authorized and unauthorized workers.


How much does FMLA pay?

The FFCRA expands FMLA coverage by requiring employers to pay eligible employees two-thirds of their regular pay, up to $200 per day with a maximum benefit of $10,000. DOL may exempt employers with fewer than 50 employees if these leave requirements would jeopardize the viability of the business.


How many weeks of FMLA do you have to work?

The FMLA requires certain employers with 50 or more workers to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for specified family and medical reasons, including the birth of a child or to care for a family member with a serious health condition, with the right to return to the employee’s previous job at the end of the leave. Workers employed by firms with less than 500 employees may use their 12 weeks of FMLA leave for COVID-19 concerns.


What is FFCRA in agriculture?

The FFCRA requires employers to determine their employment at the time an employee requests paid leave, counting both full- and part-time employees and employees brought to farms by labor contractors. The Census of Agriculture (COA) publishes data on farm employers who hired 10 or more workers directly. Some 513,100 US farm employers reported that …


How many workers did the US farm hire in 2017?

Some 513,100 US farm employers reported that they hired 2.4 million workers directly in 2017, including 35,500 that hired 10 or more workers. The COA does not provide data on employers who hire more and fewer than 500 workers, …


How long do you have to be employed to be eligible for child care leave?

Eligible employees must have been employed for at least 30 days prior to requesting the leave, and must show that they cannot work because they have to care for their child due to the closure of a child care facility or K-12 school, or because a child care provider is unavailable due to coronavirus concerns.


Definition of Agricultural Worker Under State Law

  • • For the purposes of wage and hour law, Massachusetts defines “agricultural and farm work” as labor on a farm and the growing and harvesting of agricultural, floricultural and horticultural commodities. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 151, § 2) Post-harvest activities—such as cleaning, sorting, and packing—do not fall under the definition of agricultural and farm work. Aris-Villano v…

See more on farmworkerjustice.org


Wages and Overtime

  • Minimum Wage
    1. Massachusetts has a state minimum wage law. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 151) 2. The current state minimum wage rate is $13.50. 3. The minimum wage rate will change within next few years: 4. January 1, 2022: $14.25 5. January 1, 2023: $15.00 1. Agricultural workers have a l…
  • Overtime
    1. Massachusetts has a state law regulating overtime pay. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 151, § 1A). 2. Agricultural workers are excluded from the state overtime law. Laborers engaged in agriculture and farming on a farm are exempt from overtime pay. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. …

See more on farmworkerjustice.org


Occupational Safety and Health

  • Workers’ Compensation
    1. Agricultural workers are covered by the state workers’ compensation law with no exceptions. Employers are required to cover agricultural workers to same extent as all other workers. (MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 152 § 1(4) (2012) State Enforcement Agency: Workers’ C…
  • Field Sanitation
    1. The State Sanitary Code has regulations specific to Housing and Sanitation for Farm Labor Camps, which include requirements regarding field sanitation facilities and drinking water. (105 Mass. Code Regs. 420.000) State Enforcement Agency: Department of Public Health Website: ht…

See more on farmworkerjustice.org


Right to Join Unions and Collective Bargaining in Agriculture

  1. There is no provision (or judicial interpretation of a provision) in the state constitution that grants farmworkers the right to join and organize labor unions free from retaliation or to engage in…
  2. There is a state statute that grants agricultural workers the right to join and organize labor unions free from retaliation (such as being fired, demoted or disciplined).
  1. There is no provision (or judicial interpretation of a provision) in the state constitution that grants farmworkers the right to join and organize labor unions free from retaliation or to engage in…
  2. There is a state statute that grants agricultural workers the right to join and organize labor unions free from retaliation (such as being fired, demoted or disciplined).
  3. Massachusetts law applies only a portion of its private-sector labor relations law to agricultural workers who work for an employer with more than four permanent, agricultural workers who are not f…
  4. The statute creates rules and enforcement mechanisms that regulate collective bargaining in agriculture, allowing agricultural employees to organize and requires the Labor Commission, …


State Legal Services Organizations

  • Central West Justice Center http://www.cwjustice.org/ Pine Tree Legal Assistance, Inc. (based in Maine) http://www.ptla.org

See more on farmworkerjustice.org

Leave a Comment