Can you sell agricultural products in virginia without a license

On July 1, 2013 an amendment to § 3.2-5130 of the Code of Virginia went into effect that expanded the types of prepared foods individuals can make and sell from their homes or at farmers markets without VDACS inspection including certain low risk foods and acidified vegetables.

You do not need a license from the ag department to start your business, though there may be other local requirements (like a business license or zoning approval) that you need to fulfill. Most food businesses in Virginia are charged an annual $40 fee, but since you are exempt from inspection, this fee does not apply.Mar 4, 2015

Full
Answer

Can you sell food from home in Virginia without a license?

Virginia Can you legally sell food from home in Virginia? Virginia allows producers to make certain types of food from home without needing a license or inspection from the ag department. The information on this page only pertains to operations that do not get their home kitchen inspected.

What can I Sell in Virginia as a cottage food producer?

Virginia cottage food producers also may sell “pickles and other acidified vegetables that have an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower,” but gross sales of these products may not exceed $3,000 in a calendar year. In addition, Virginians who are approved as a home food processing operation can sell refrigerated baked goods.

Do I need a license to sell fruits and vegetables?

It is required for all sales except cash-only sales. As long as you sell directly to the consumer (retail) and the purchaser is not to re-sell the product (wholesale), no other license is required other than what may be required by county or city regulations. Citrus License and Bond Document reader download links:

Which foods are subject to the Virginia home food processors Cottage Food Law?

Which foods are subject to the Virginia Home Food Processors Cottage Food law? These are the only allowed foods, basically, they are considered to be low risk foods and pickles: cereals, trail mixes and granola. Pickles and other acidified vegetables processed in a private home so that an equilibrium pH of 4.6 or lower is achieved.


Do I need a license to sell plants in Virginia?

It is unlawful for any nurseryman or dealer to offer for sale, sell, deliver, or give away nursery stock unless such person shall have first procured a license from the Commissioner.


Do you need a license to sell potted plants in Virginia?

In order that nursery stock may move into or within Virginia, it must be accompanied by a valid certificate of inspection issued by the proper authority of the state of origin. This certificate must be attached to each load, box, bale, or package in a conspicuous place. Virginia nurseries and dealers must be licensed.


How can I grow and sell plants at home?

3:219:32Make Extra Cash With Your Houseplants! | Selling Plants From …YouTubeStart of suggested clipEnd of suggested clipYou should probably include in your like post listing is of course a photo of the plant. As well asMoreYou should probably include in your like post listing is of course a photo of the plant. As well as the price you want for the plant. And also the shipping. Cost. So those are kind of the three.


Can I sell seeds from my garden?

Many growers choose to sell their seeds directly to buyers and they do this many ways. Popular methods include using farmer’s markets, creating an online shop, going to trade shows, or peddling seeds through a yard sale or swap meet.


Virginia cottage food types

Many states regulate “cottage food,” meaning food made in home kitchens for sale. Virginia cottage food producers may sell low-risk foods and acidified vegetables.


Virginia cottage food venues

Virginia cottage food producers may sell their goods directly to consumers at private homes or farmers’ markets. All other venues are off limits. Virginia specifically bans cottage food sales over the Internet, across state lines, and at retail establishments like grocery stores and restaurants.


Getting started in Virginia

Getting started as a Virginia cottage food producer is easy. The state requires no registration, fee or inspection. All a person needs is a home kitchen.


Virginia cottage food labeling

Virginia cottage food producers must package their goods with labels displaying the name, physical address and telephone number of the person preparing the food, and the date the food was processed. Labels also must include the name of the product, net weight, list of ingredients, and “possibly” nutritional information.


Virginia cottage food resources

As part of its Food Freedom Initiative, the Institute for Justice provides a variety of resources for home bakers and other food entrepreneurs. These include:


Tell your Virginia story

Is government violating your homemade food freedom in Virginia? Do you have a potential case for IJ? Get started here…


Support Virginia legislation

Help expand cottage food laws in Virginia by teaming with the Institute for Justice. Send an email with your name, background information and availability to get started…


What is the address to mail VA food safety application?

An incomplete application will cause delay in it being processed. By email (preferred): foodsafety@vdacs.virginia.gov By mail: PO Box 1163 Richmond, VA 23218 By fax: 804-371-7792 12. Once your application is submitted, it will be reviewed, and you will be contacted by the reviewer if there are any questions.


When did the VDACS change to 3.2-5130?

On July 1, 2013 an amendment to § 3.2-5130 of the Code of Virginia went into effect that expanded the types of prepared foods individuals can make and sell from their homes or at farmers markets without VDACS inspection including certain low risk foods and acidified vegetables.


What is the pH of canned vegetables?

Low-acid canned vegetables that are processed with an equilibrium pH of greater than 4.6. Any acidified food that is not a vegetable. Any product not canned in a private home. Any anything else not specifically included in the allowed foods list is, by default, prohibited.


How to contact VDACS?

If you receive a bill from VDACS requesting that you pay the annual fee, please contact the state agency at 804-786-3520 or foodsafety@vdacs.virginia.gov so that the matter can be resolved. Submit applications to the VDACS Food Safety Program. An incomplete application will cause delay in it being processed.


Do you have to separate the food processing area from the rest of the home?

The food processing area, including any areas where ingredients and finished products are stored, must be completely enclosed/separated from the rest of the home in order to be approved for home based food production. Pets must be excluded from food preparation and storage areas at all times.


Can cottage food be sold across state lines?

Cottage Food Products may not be sold across state lines. In other words, only be sold within the state. They may be sold directly to the consumer from the home where the products are produced and at Farmer’s Markets. Farmers markets.


Is a home kitchen a manufacturer?

As a home-based kitchen business, you are considered a manufacturer. Your VDACS inspection allows you to make food products at your home kitchen and sell them either directly to the end consumer (over the internet, farmer’s market, festival, etc.) or sell your products to other businesses.


How to determine if a food is non-potentially hazardous?

Most states determine if a food is non-potentially hazardous by the acidity level found in the food. The higher the acidity, the more stable at a range of temps, that food product is. For example: milk is low acidity and requires temperature controls.


Does Virginia have a limit on food sales?

Virginia does NOT have annual limit on food sales.

Leave a Comment